Let the cows come home


When I reached home last evening, I picked up my scrap book and started scribbling. This is what my head sent to my hand:

Let the cows come home,

A home that was once full

Full of laughter and joy,

Joy now turned to grief.

Grief brought by this senseless war,

War brought about by this madness,

This madness has taken over this nation

A nation that was once united.

Let the cows come home!

I was going home last evening. Here, I am sitted in this taxi minding my own business until this beauty walks and sits next to me. Whoa! She says hi, and I melt….that voice, those eyes….damn! 

Oooops, Sibo, please focus! Ok thank you. So we reach the Ministry of Health, well you know how taxis are trying to escape traffic jam on one street and falling right in the middle of one in the next. This lady on the seat behind the conductor starts complaining loudly. She says taximen are planless. Instead of using this route, we should have used Wandegeya where there are traffic lights, so she says. For a second I agree with her. Then things get nasty! She gets tribalistic. Saying that the westerners have ripped this country. They are the ones buying expensive cars while the rest are sleeping on empty stomachs and blah blah blah…..

The lady vented for a while even when we were out of the jam, she was not about done! Damn, this lady had steam.. I lost interest and struck a converstaion with the beauty till she alighted.

Alone, I got a moment to think about this lady’s anger. When did our country get to this level? I am so worried for my motherland.

6 thoughts on “Let the cows come home

  1. @normzo: We are Ugandans. I am still wondering as well….hope we recover soon!
    @Mamazum: We were subject to her endless ranting. A pity! The beauty: story of another day.
    @therisingpage: Trully, when? and why?
    @Ugandan Girl: Anger, Stress, Frustration combined!
    @Tricia: Praying that we do not go that way…..

Leave a Reply

